GRRR Life!

My wife is away this weekend visiting her mother in Germany, which means I’m on my own with my son. Don’t get me wrong, I love spending time with him, but it does restrict any training activities.

So I was really pleased when my parents said they’d come to visit – and I was mainly pleased because it meant I would be able to get out for a swim on Saturday lunchtime. It’s not the best session as it’s usually quite full of part-timers, but after a long week of work which meant no training since Tuesday I was looking forward to getting in the pool again.

Then my dad called yesterday. They’re not coming as he is too full of cold.

GRRR Life!

7 Comments

Filed under Swimming, Thoughts

7 responses to “GRRR Life!

  1. MikeW

    In this case think: the obstacle is the path.

    • I’m not sure I understand what that means. Can you tell me more…?

      • MikeW

        This is only tangentially related but still relevant to what you express about that day:

        http://www.medicaldaily.com/putting-your-child-yourself-leads-better-mental-health-child-centric-parents-are-happier-more-261704

        Yet I cited it in the context of sustainable, adaptive training, which is the focus of my blog (just so happens LOL). This is something many, many athletic parents think about and wrestle with. To me, for a training life to be sustainable, it must not routinely cause lost opportunities with family.

        Parents whose children have flown the nest often wonder where the time went and do not regret lost training days spent with their little ones when little.

        We can never get back lost time with our children, that is, our children will never be the age they were again, whereas we will still be able to compete in sports when they’ve flown the nest, albeit in older age groups.

        This is not to say I haven’t had the feelings you expressed in your post. I think Dads all feel this sometimes. And yet, dealing with a socially engineered culture, the adaptation in the article seems to suggest that a huge stressor / guilt source is overcome by putting the child first with total joy and focus, then being totally focused and non-exhausted in your postponed training interval later on.

        The self-division that occurs during the time we are supervising and spending time with our children but wanting to be somewhere else is perhaps one of the most psychologically exhausting things around. Yet when we dive into our role, then bounce back from it, we are rejuvenated for our training focus with no regrets or mental exhaustion.

  2. Mo

    Hmm, though the ‘postponed training interval’ you refer to is all to often not postponed at all but cancelled. When this happens repeatedly, when you repeatedly lose your own ‘me’ time, it is very frustrating indeed.

    • Exactly. I agree with Mike about not regretting or resenting the time spent with your kids (and I don’t). And I also agree that if you have that time you can often train better (rather than more often) as you feel happier and more fulfilled. However there are times when they are mutually exclusive – it’s kids OR training. Obviously kids win every time, but it can be very frustrating.

  3. Pingback: Windermere 2013 – failure | 1000kmstowindermere

  4. Pingback: Kids or training? | 1000kmstowindermere

Leave a Reply

