Lethargy

I was going to go to the gym this morning.

I was going to go on the bike and then on the treadmill.

It would have been great to blow away some of the cobwebs, work up a sweat and then head down to London feeling slightly smug.

I was going to… and then the alarm went off and I couldn’t be bothered!

I seem to be feeling like this quite regularly at the moment. I haven’t exercised yet in December and I’m starting to feel it / notice it. I can feel myself not being as sharp, I don’t sleep as well and I lose a little bit of motivation. However, when I get like that the first response is to get even lazier.

I feel lacking in energy so I eat chocolate… then I feel a bit bloated, but also lacking in energy, so…

I need to break the cycle and I need to break before the legitimate eating festival that is Xmas. I’ve promised myself a swim on Wednesday morning, so watch this space…

2 Comments

Filed under Cycling, Running, Swimming

2 responses to “Lethargy

  1. This is exactly how I’m feeling. I think it’s common with the dreaded cold and extra things to think about/do with Christmas. I finally managed to get to the gym on Saturday for a brick session after almost crow barring myself out of bed as the rest of the family slept on. It was the first session in a month! I’ve told myself I can allow slacking until Christmas, maybe one of two sessions a week, but as soon as Christmas is done I must get back to 2 or 3 sessions, then 3 or 4 by April. I think there’s a chance I can do that, but if I try and do 3 or 4 a week the way I’m feeling, I will fail. Which will make me slack even more…

    • Yeah I’m similar. I can put it down to being ill recently, or to workload, but really it’s laziness. I think it’s a mental thing with the end of the year approaching – it’s harder to motivate yourself at this time of year. I’m not going to push myself, but I want to do a bit mainly so that the shock in the New Year isn’t too huge. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

